Summer Race Series

2017 will see the introduction of the Leicester Huncote Hornets Summer Race Series at the Huncote BMX track.

Current Standings

2017 Series After 3 Rounds

Race Dates

Round 1 – Friday 23rd June
Round 2 – Friday 7th July
Round 3 – Friday 4th August
Round 4 – Friday 1st September
Round 5 – Saturday 30th September

The Race Evening Schedule

6-6.30pm  –  Registration
6-6.40pm  –  Warm-up & Gates
6.45pm  –  Racing starts

How it all works

Entry Fee – £5 per rider

Racing Categories
Racing will be in formula categories. There are 4 racing categories. Riders can choose to ride up at their own discretion.

Formula 4 (Under 9s)
Formula 3 (9-11s)
Formula 2 (12-14s)
Formula 1 (15+)

Race Rules

  • Riders will have 3 motos just the same as regionals and nationals.
  • We will be the same system as international races, whereby riders will be racing the same people in their motos.
  • Riders are not given a gate, they will pick a numbered ball ‘out of a hat’ prior to each race which will determine their gate. This way it’s a bit of fun and makes for a ‘bit of banter’ about lane choice.
  • Come final time as the gate goes down we roll a dice. What ever the number is (1-6) the person who finishes in that position will win free race fee for the next race +sweets (for Formula 2-4). For Formula 1 £20 will go to the rider who finishes in that position.
  • Riders will not know that number until the end of the race, so you won’t be able to slow down!!

The points

Each race you can gain points with the final being more heavily weighed.

Heres a table to explain it a bit better: